Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Exposure” as Want to Read:
Exposure
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Exposure

4.18  ·  Rating details ·  80 ratings  ·  4 reviews
An essay on the anxiety epidemic, autofiction and internet feminism.


After the release of Sympathy, her debut novel which explores surveillance and identity in the internet age, Olivia Sudjic found herself under the microscope. Trapped in an anxious spiral of self-doubt, she became alienated from herself and her work. Blaming her own mental health masked a wider problem tha
...more
Paperback, 128 pages
Published November 1st 2018 by Peninsula Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Exposure, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Exposure

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Elizabeth
Nov 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A critical examination of anxiety, writing, what it means to construct a self online and how female subjectivity (in writing) is created, dismissed and grappled with, using a core of writers such as Elena Ferrante, Rachel Cusk and Chris Kraus. Fans of Maggie Nelson and Olivia Laing should apply.

Intricately written with many insights and jumping off points for further thought.
Molly
Nov 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This book is excellent. Sudjic is able to describe in such underlinable skill, the plagues of anxiety and imposter syndrome while trying to write on a writing residency. She uses this as a starting point to explore the internet’s role in loneliness, authorship and female subjectivity as well as the auto fiction genre thoughtfully and articulately exposing the discrimination female writers face who borrow from their lived experience and use first person narrative in writing. Olivia you are one of ...more
Kirsten
Nov 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
REally enjoyed this essay on anxiety and shame following the publication of the writer's first novel. Must go read the novel now.
Ian
Oct 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I’m with Sudjic on Austen, Roth - not so much.
Knausgaard in 100 plus pages ( I’m alive to the irony )
Sarah Pratley
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2018
Katie Lawson
rated it it was amazing
Nov 26, 2018
Dafne Martino
rated it it was amazing
Nov 26, 2018
Barbara Bourland
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2019
Sophie Davidson
rated it really liked it
Oct 28, 2018
Lauren  Highton
rated it it was amazing
Nov 24, 2018
Naomi
rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2019
Nicole Davis
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2019
Jenn Thompson
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2018
JG
rated it really liked it
Dec 02, 2018
Elie
rated it really liked it
Dec 11, 2018
Josh Rees
rated it liked it
Dec 13, 2018
Lizzy Stewart
rated it really liked it
Dec 03, 2018
Alex
rated it really liked it
Dec 04, 2018
Michaela Moores
rated it it was ok
Dec 31, 2018
Blair
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2018
Alexia
rated it liked it
Dec 15, 2018
Yasmin Bocarisa
rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2018
Kylie Whitehead
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2019
Mimmi Montán
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2018
Michelle
rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2018
Sam
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2018
Krysten Chambrot
rated it it was amazing
Dec 09, 2018
Ruben
rated it it was amazing
Dec 18, 2018
Katie
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2018
Tawseef Khan
rated it really liked it
Nov 13, 2018
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »