From the Bookshelf of The Sword and Laser

An Unkindness of Ghosts
by
Start date
March 1, 2018
Finish date
March 31, 2018
Discussion
An Unkindness of Ghosts

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

* AUoG: March 2018 Pick - An Unkindness of Ghosts by River Solomon
By Rob , Roberator · 68 posts · 265 views
last updated Apr 02, 2018 02:37AM
AUoG: gender
By Ruth · 22 posts · 188 views
last updated Apr 08, 2018 09:17PM
showing 10 of 12 topics    view all »
Other topics mentioning this book
* Philly Meetup - Next is January 24th
By Travis · 69 posts · 89 views
last updated Dec 19, 2018 06:43PM
This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - December 2017
By Rob , Roberator · 158 posts · 226 views
last updated Dec 31, 2017 10:10PM
This topic has been closed to new comments. Quick Burns - 2018
By Rob , Roberator · 491 posts · 685 views
last updated Dec 30, 2018 07:58PM
* FOTMP: January 2018 Pick - Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
By Rob , Roberator · 31 posts · 287 views
last updated Mar 03, 2018 05:53PM
This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - February 2018
By Rob , Roberator · 118 posts · 206 views
last updated Mar 01, 2018 10:51AM
S&L Podcast - #316 - Why'd Ya Do It, Ernie?
By Veronica , Supreme Sword · 27 posts · 136 views
last updated Feb 06, 2018 04:08PM
This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - March 2018
By Rob , Roberator · 169 posts · 220 views
last updated Mar 31, 2018 04:14PM
This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - May 2018
By Rob , Roberator · 180 posts · 206 views
last updated Jun 01, 2018 01:58AM
Non-YA SF books by young authors
By Silvana · 25 posts · 50 views
last updated Sep 19, 2018 05:00PM
This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - December 2018
By Rob , Roberator · 107 posts · 163 views
last updated Jan 01, 2019 04:34AM

What Members Thought

Beth
Mar 22, 2018 rated it liked it
There were things that were great and things that were weak. I liked the generation ship idea, which an interesting twist on the "forgotten where they are going" parts. But sometimes the science was twisted too hard for the plot. And Aster's dysfunctional relationships didn't really work for me; both with her friends and with the surgeon. But a great book for a book club discussion.
kvon
Jan 16, 2018 rated it really liked it
Set on a generation ship fleeing from a ruined earth, three hundred years out on their journey...The ship has a tightly stratified society, with the lower decks/darker skins farther from the administrative power of the elite (although the actual ship power is a different matter). There are a couple different narratives here, about rising up against oppression and abuse, the place of people with various mental challenges (autism, transgender, asexual, bipolar), the mystery of Aster's mother and r ...more
Kamilla
Dec 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is like nothing I've ever read before. I loved every gripping, horrifying, stunningly beautiful page of Aster's journey. Highly recommended for fans of Oryx and Crake and Snowpiercer.
I will read anything Solomon publishes.
Sarah
Aug 26, 2018 marked it as my-wishlist
Jlawrence
Mar 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Liz
Mar 14, 2018 marked it as to-read
Shelves: sff
Bill
Mar 04, 2018 rated it liked it
Christina
Mar 01, 2018 marked it as to-read
Tom Merritt
Feb 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Kristie
Feb 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018, 2018-sl-laser
taeli
Feb 07, 2018 marked it as to-read
Jenny (Reading Envy)
Feb 02, 2018 marked it as to-read
ZJ Bowen
Jan 31, 2018 marked it as to-read
Shelves: t1-tbr
Ahimsa
Dec 14, 2017 marked it as to-read
Beth
Jan 15, 2019 marked it as to-read
cheryl
Mar 27, 2018 marked it as to-read
Jennifer Anderson
May 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Stephanie
Mar 29, 2018 marked it as to-read
Bree
May 14, 2018 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Elizabeth
Mar 22, 2018 rated it liked it
Kalyan
Aug 02, 2018 marked it as to-read
Mary Varn
Nov 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Chessa
Jul 29, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: hoopla
Crowinator
May 11, 2017 marked it as to-read
Lara
Oct 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
Bailey
Aug 28, 2018 marked it as to-read
Sarahjane
Apr 16, 2018 marked it as to-read
Adrienne
Mar 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
Ryan Mac
Jan 12, 2018 marked it as to-read
« previous 1